Drama in Italian "La Mascareta"

This workshop was founded in 2009 in the department of Italian Studies and uses the ressources of drama, poetry and music to stage, each year, a play in Italian (Pirandello, De Filippo, Bontempelli, Calvino, de Luca…). It was born from the meeting between teachers specialised in the performing arts and students from different countries eager to explore the Italian theatre register.

The love for the Italian language - its clarity, its unique humour, its artistic and philosophical potential - constitutes the base ingredient of this workshop. The attention to others, the taste for interaction and the sense of 'team' are precious assets. Numerous talents can be expressed: elaboration of soundtrack, editing and making surtitles in French, search for costumes and accessories, stage preparation, linguistic coaching...

Within the workshop, students who have Italian as their mother tongue (mostly Erasmus student in our university) or having learned Italian in different situations meet; some already have experience in the performing arts (drama, singing, dance, instruments...), others are motivated by an eager to tackle the performing arts. Those different world cohabit really well as long as everybody - in their own way - is willing to take up a joint artistic challenge, particularly gratifying for its final beauty.

The first classes are focused of the troupe cohesion through the interpretation of excerpts from the classics repertoire and theatrical readings. The students therefore participate actively in the choice of the play which they will work on throughout the year. Depending on the play chosen and once the memorisation of the role is done, an entertainment professional can be invited to the rehearsals , in order to further the actors' interpretation.

The drama workshop of the Italian Studies department can be chosen in Licence as a free specialisation or as a language, giving ECTS credits.

C1/C2 level in Italian required

But the basic motivation must be above all artistic in order to allow the making of quality shows.

Practical information

Time
Fridays from 4 to 7 PM
Room
Centre Malesherbes – Salle 344/Grand amphithéâtre
Starting date
Friday 20th September 2019

Two possible registrations

Leisure
All Sorbonne University students
Specialisation
All student enrolled at the Sorbonne Unviersity and in a department allows it (free specialisation with ECTS validation)

Interested?

To join the workshop, contact Isabella Montersino via mail, in order to make an appointment for a personal interview (even throughout the academic year).
Contact Us
Photo : Olivier Jacquet, Faculté des Lettres de Sorbonne Université

Théâtre en langue italienne “La Mascareta”

Cet atelier a été fondé en 2009 à l’UFR d’Études Italiennes et utilise les ressources du théâtre, de la poésie et de la musique pour mettre en scène, chaque année, une pièce de théâtre en langue italienne (Pirandello, De Filippo, Bontempelli, Calvino, de Luca…). Il est né de la rencontre entre des enseignants spécialisés dans les arts du spectacle et des étudiants de plusieurs pays d’Europe et du monde, désireux d’explorer le répertoire théâtral italien.

L’amour pour la langue italienne – sa clarté, sa musicalité, son humour propre, ses potentiels artistiques et philosophiques – constitue l’ingrédient de base de cet atelier. L’attention à l’autre, le goût pour l’interaction et le sens de l’équipe sont des atouts précieux. De nombreux talents peuvent s’y exprimer : élaboration bande son, montage sur-titrages français, recherche de costumes et d’accessoires, préparation scène, coaching linguistique…

Au sein de l’atelier se rencontrent des étudiants de langue maternelle italienne (notamment en séjour Erasmus dans notre université) ou ayant appris l’italien dans différents contextes ; certains ont déjà une expérience des arts de la scène (théâtre, chant, danse, instruments…), d’autres sont animés par un très fort désir de s’y confronter. Ces univers différents cohabitent très bien dans la mesure où tout le monde – chacun à sa manière – accepte de relever un défi artistique commun, particulièrement gratifiant pour sa beauté finale.

Les premières séances sont consacrées à la cohésion de la troupe, à travers l’interprétation d’extraits du répertoire classique et des lectures théâtrales. Les étudiants participent ainsi activement au choix de la pièce sur laquelle ils travailleront en cours d’année. En fonction de la pièce choisie et une fois la mémorisation des rôles assurée, un professionnel du spectacle peut être invité aux répétitions, afin d’approfondir l’interprétation des acteurs.

L’atelier-théâtre de l’UFR d’Études Italiennes peut également être choisi en Licence comme option libre ou comme langue vivante, avec attribution de crédits ECTS

Niveau d’italien C1/C2 exigé

Mais la motivation de base doit être avant tout artistique, afin de permettre la réalisation de spectacles de qualité.

Infos pratiques

Horaire
Vendredi de 16h à 19h
Salle
Centre Malesherbes – Salle 344/Grand amphithéâtre
Rentrée
Vendredi 20 septembre 2019

Deux inscriptions au choix

Loisir
Tous les étudiants de Sorbonne Université
Option
Tous les étudiants inscrits à Sorbonne Université et dont l’UFR l’autorise (option libre avec validation d’ECTS)

Intéressé.e ?

Pour intégrer l’atelier, contacter Isabella Montersino par mail, afin de prendre rendez-vous pour un entretien personnalisé (même en cours d’année universitaire).
Contact
Photo : Olivier Jacquet, Faculté des Lettres de Sorbonne Université